Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“The Reason Why” can be a powerful statement for people. In regards to this beauty interview, it means Ashley of Kindredly was the reason why I started blogging.  After reading her blog a few years ago, I actually started a blog myself but it was random without much direction and then it was blocked at work (back when I used to work) so I pretty much had no time for it…

Ashley and I actually went to college together but hung out in different circles so we never really connected….however, as soon as I started reading her blog {Kindredly}, it made me feel like we were best friends. She’s so real and honest, I LOVE honest….maybe because I’m brutally honest myself. I just like that characteristic because to me it means you get to know someone’s authentic self…no games involved, you know exactly where you stand every minute you’re with someone who is honest.  LOVE it. Proud to be it.

Ashley’s interview so perfectly illustrates who she is, what she’s about, and what she has to offer. Hopefully, after reading this interview, you will not only get to know Ashley better but also gain a little more insight on me too….since she’s one of the very reasons why Everyday Southernista exists today!  Thanks Ashley….for many more reasons than just this interview! :)

What are your everyday cheapies, products that we can buy at the drugstore that you use on a frequent basis?

  • Rubbing Alcohol – I know some people might squirm at this, but I swear by it. Back in college I had a long, torturous stint with acne, and being in a sorority, I had a wealth of advice at my fingertips.  I slowly made the connection that several of the girls with perfect, flawless skin were using rubbing alcohol like an astringent.  My skin does better a little on the drier side, so this really helps to keep pimples at bay.
  • Noxema Original Cleansing Cream –  Yes!  This stuff is retro, but I love it.  It makes my face feel SO clean.  I’ve used this face wash for years, with the exception of Pro Active & Cetaphil during those pesky acne years.

  • Covergirl Wetslick AmazeMint lipgloss – at $6 a pop, you can have every color, and it’s shiny, cooling and it freshens your breath (after you lick all of it off, yes, but still!)

CoverGirl WetSlicks Amazemint Lipgloss, 650-Merry Berry

All time fave make up line?

I’d have to say Mac.  They say to try new makeup as you age to make sure you’re using what’s best for you and your skin.  I blew the bank at CosBar in Charleston last year on several Laura Mercier recommendations.  I tried Bare Minerals.  I’ve tried NARS, and attempted to buy Bobbi Brown (they would not sell it to me since I would not commit to foundation), and after all of that, I went back to my trusty Mac Studio Fix.  I have a huge foundation phobia.  I want the smooth, matte look, but in my experience, foundation cakes on my skin and makes me look shiny.  It’s not realistic for me to carry around my makeup arsenal all day, so I need one application to work and last.  Studio Fix does that for me.  Of course, I have a hodgepodge of options in my makeup bag, but my favorite makeup line for my face is Mac.  Laura Mercier, Urban Decay and Smashbox all have fantastic eyeshadow, and I use cheap mascara because I’m a firm believer that unless my lashes are fake, no mascara can make them as long as I want them, so why spend the money?

What are your go to hair products and styling secrets?

  • I love Aveeno’s shampoo/conditioner.  I have dry hair, and the Moisturizing option works wonders.

Aveeno Nourish+ Moisturize Shampoo, 10.5-Ounce BottleAveeno Nourish Plus Moisturize Conditioner, 10.5 Ounce Bottle

  • Aussie 3 Minute Miracle…again for those dry, dead ends.

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Moist Deeeeep Liquid Conditioner, 8-Fluid Ounce Bottles (Pack of 4)

  • Redken Velvet Gelatine – I do not have this currently, but I LOVE this product.  It’s not one of Redken’s “everyday” products…only certain salons carry this line.  My old salon (Carlos Salon in Peachtree City, GA) carries this.  Carlos Salon is a great salon for anyone in that area who is looking for a new stylist (Jodi), btw.  This product smells fantastic and it makes your hair gorgeous and soft.  It’s kind of expensive but worth it.

Redken Velvet Gelatine 07 Blow-Dry Gel for Unisex, 3.4 Ounce

What 3 (don’t you mean 8?) beauty items are in your handbag right now?

I keep it really simple and carry about eight different lipglosses/lipsticks and some perfume.  Currently, I’m packing…

  • Revlon Lipstick in Soft Nude

Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick, 0.13 Fluid-Ounce

  • Covergirl Wetslicks AmazeMint in No Care Bare, Freedom of Peach, and Merry Berry
  • Mac frost lipstick in Fabby

 Lipstick

  • Revlon Colorburst lipgloss in Strawberry Fraise

Revlon ColorBurst Lipgloss Lip Shine .02 fl oz (5.9 ml)

  • Revlon Super Lustrous lipgloss in Peach Petal

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss, SPF 15, 0.2 Ounce

  • Blistex Medicated Lip Balm

Blistex Medicated Lip Balm, SPF 15, .15-Ounce Tubes (Pack of 24)

  • Revolution Organics Freedom Glow beauty balm in Blushed {the Pink/Rosey Shade in the back, pictured below}

Revolution Organics Freedom Glow Beauty Balm | Spirit Beauty Lounge

  • Calvin Klein Euphoria

Euphoria Perfume by Calvin Klein for women Personal Fragrances

What are your go to make up products for your everyday look?

  • Olay Regenerist Serum
  • L’Oreal Magic Lumi Primer

L'Oreal Magic Lumi Primer, Full Size, 0.05 Ounce

  • Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser

Maybelline New York Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer, Light 20, 0.2-fluid Ounce

  • Mac Prep+Prime Eye

  • Neutrogena Natural Radiance Bronzer

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Blend Natural Radiance Bronzer (2-Pack)

  • Mac Studio Fix in NC42

  •  Smashbox “Softbox” Eye Palette (when I’m done with this, I’ll purchase Urban Decay “Naked” palette, which I actually like more.)

Smashbox Softbox Eye Shadow Palette 0.10oz (3g)

  • Smashbox Blush Rush in Radiance

Blush Rush

  • I line my eyes with L’Oreal Wear Infinite Smokey Eyes using the darkest black

L'Oreal Wear Infinite Eye Shadow, Smokey Eyes, 904

  • Great Lash Mascara with the BIG wand in blackest black

Maybelline Great Lash - Big Mascara 1 ea

What’s an easy trick you use to turn a daytime face into an evening look?

I’ll add more eyeliner, especially to the top, and blend for a smokier look, add more blush and some nude gloss.

Any unique make up product that you use, we may not know about?

I currently love the Beauty Blender makeup sponge.  I got one in my Birchbox a few months ago, and it’s great for blending around my eyes and t-zone.  I also love Laura Mercier’s illuminator.   The tube I have now is way too dark, but I’ll soon splurge on a new tube for that summer dewy look.

 

What’s your fave new beauty product/hair discovery?

Before I cut my hair, I would have said L’Oreal EverCreme cleansing conditioner, but I don’t need to use it near as often now.  I felt like my style stayed in place all day when I used this product; although, I think people have different opinions of cleansing conditioners.

L'Oreal Evercreme Cleansing Conditioner, 8.3 Fluid Ounce

I know this is obvious, but a somewhat recent hair discovery for me was going down in size with my curling iron.  I used to be able to curl my hair with my straightener, but my new Chi doesn’t work for me like my old cheapie used to.  To achieve my waves, I was forced to start using my Chi 1 ½ inch curling iron, but my hair would fall flat by the time I got to the office.  I went down to an inch barrel iron that I purchased at Wal-Mart, and my waves last all day and as they fall, it’s like my hair looks better and better.  There’s nothing more satisfying than having awesome hair after a long day.  Some friends of mine asked how I got my waves to stay in place like they do, and when I mentioned I used a smaller curling iron, they seemed surprised, so that’s why I classify this as a “discovery.”  I think people with longer hair, or even shorter hair, assume using a smaller curling iron will result in ringlets, but this is not so if done right.

It’s summer and being tan is important!  J What are your fave self tanners?

Welp – I just fried myself old school style at the pool last weekend, and I feel very irresponsible!!  I do have to admit that I’m loving my au natural tan though – I’m having to stifle the sun addict trying to escape!  My favorite self-tanner is the one someone sprays on me, but those are expensive to maintain.   A close second for me is Neutrogena Micro Mist.  Some folks do not like this stuff – they say it doesn’t tan them enough, but you can buy light, medium and dark.   I’ve purchased the $40/bottle St. Tropez, that once applied, makes you look like you rolled around in dirt.  The husband didn’t appreciate this scary look and neither did my sheets.  I’m currently using Banana Boat Airbrush spray, and Neutrogena is better, hands down.

Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Mist: 5 OZNeutrogena MicroMist Tanning Sunless Spray, Deep, 5.3 Ounce

What’s your signature scent(s)?

My old “signature” was Narcisco Rodriguez, the black bottle.  I’ve since moved on from him and tried all new scents!  I’m currently LOVING Annick Goutal Petite Cherie.  This is another Birchbox find that I ended up splurging on.  I also recently purchased L’Eau de Chloe.

PETITE CHERIE For Women By ANNICK GOUTAL Eau De Toilette SprayL'Eau de Chloé

For the past few months, I have been on the hunt for the perfect skincare regime; do you have any must haves for your routine?

This is going to be redundant, but RUBBING ALCOHOL is my must.  If my skin even looks like it’s going to try to break out, I douse my face in rubbing alcohol.  I’ve also just recently started to take steps with anti-aging products.  I Googled the best serums and Olay Regenerist was #2 under Chanel, so can’t beat that!

Olay Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum, Fragrance Free

I LOVE your style….which is actually what initially turned me on to your blog. It seemed like you were blogging about ShopBop before anyone [aka me] even knew what it was. What are your fave stores and online shops? And what are some of your summer crushes?

Thank you!  Such a nice compliment!  I am an avid online shopper, and I often blog about how everything in my closet is from Forever 21’s website.  It truly is a sad story, but I do not spend a lot of money on one piece of clothing.  Shopbop is a wonderful site for inspirational pieces and those occasional splurges, and I do have my loves and my wishlist there.  I do not make a habit of purchasing items from there…it’s more like window shopping.

When I worked at Nordstom for a short stint (trying to break into the personal shopping world), I quickly realized that I could spend hundreds on a top or $20 on a similar top, and they would have the same shelf life in my closet.  There’s no point in me breaking the bank.

I have recently discovered a site called Tobi.  They send you a daily email containing their new arrivals for 30% off.  I’ll admit that some of this stuff is h.e.i.n.o.u.s., but some of it’s great.  Truthfully, the fun of shopping, for me, is finding that fantastic and unexpected piece that looks expensive but was so cheap.  I also do a ton of shopping at Marshalls and TJ Maxx.  I did a cartwheel when Zara opened their online shop, even though I’ve yet to make a purchase other than my plaited shopper.  I also enjoy finding one-off pieces at places like Papaya, Charlotte Russe and H&M.

All time crushes: statement necklaces, long skirts, flowy dresses

You have an amazing blog, Kindredly, that’s just real life through your eyes with ups/downs and everything in between. Tell us a little more about your blog and your inspiration behind it. Any tips or for new bloggers, since you have been at it for a few years now?

I’m a chatty-cathy.  Anyone who knows me knows that I will stop and talk to you forever if you let me.  Wanna chat on the phone?  Bring it.  Wanna go shopping and talk the entire time?  I’m game.  Wanna just sit on the couch and catch up on life?  Yes!!!  It’s how I spent my years in college with my roommates Kim & Morgan.  We would lose hours just talking.  I’m not really private.  I enjoy sharing.  This can be a good thing or a bad thing.  I’ve definitely posted on my blog and gone back and deleted or edited a few days later after God and everybody’s already read it, but whatever.

Sometimes I wish I had more of a theme to my blog, but I think I’d be blocked even more than I am now if I only wrote about certain subjects.  If I had to give advice to someone thinking of starting a blog, I guess I’d tell them to have some kind of idea of what they want the blog to be about – I think when I started it was more of a “I like to write, this will be my outlet and vent spot”…I think the posts when I’m going off on a tangent about something are the ones that get the most comments, but sometimes I feel like my blog is all over the place.

As a new blogger, don’t feel like you have to kill yourself to post daily…but do make time to go read other blogs so you can start building your network.  I am someone who NEEDS comments to keep going.  I need to know my readers are reading.  The blogging community is actually a very cozy place!  I’ve made lots of new friends I’ve never met personally, and it’s really cool.

What’s next for Ashley?

Oh, you know…work work work.  Blog blog blog.  I’m going to keep working toward growing my career in recruiting – I enjoy it so much, and I’m chomping at the bit for a promotion.  From there, I guess the husband and I are going to attempt to expand our little family with an actual human child (instead of fur ones).  That is an exciting but SUPER SUPER SUPER scary prospect that I’m happy is still just on the horizon and not yet here.

Thanks so much for the interview!!  I’m not sure if my head will fit through the next doorway I try to go through!