Tags

, , , , ,

So my mom actually got me hooked on zucchini muffins a long time ago because my kids are HORRIBLE vegetable eaters and at least they would get SOME from eating these muffins.  And because I like to eat healthy, but I’m not totally onboard with being a clean eater….I decided to find a recipe I liked and tweak it to be one I LOVE.  After a little google help, I found this recipe on The Healthy Eating Site and have tweaked it slightly to make it a little more healthy and is just as delicious, maybe even more! AND my kids LOVE them so it’s a great breakfast, afternoon snack, or even dinner if evenings get a little hectic for you like they do me! So here goes…..

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce or vanilla yogurt
  • 4 cups grated zucchini (abt four small or three large zucchinis)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (can definitely mix it up and use the splenda version for an even healthier alternative or do half brown sugar and half splenda brown sugar)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup flax seeds (optional)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (optional, but adds a really nice depth)
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together eggs, vegetable oil, applesauce/yogurt, brown sugar, vanilla. Then add your zucchini.  In another bowl mix together all of your dry ingredients. I just use my hands to mix it all up but a spoon or whisk would work too! :) Make a well in the center of the bowl with the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients in the well.  Use a spoon or spatula to fold together the wet and dry ingredients. Make sure to mix until just incorporated, don’t over mix.

Since we didn’t use a lot of oil, spray your cupcakes liners with a little Pam before you put the batter in. This will help them from sticking too much, but they will still stick slightly even with the Pam. The best way to get uniformly sized muffins is by using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, pictured above.  I just dip it in the batter, scrape it against the side of the bowl so the batter in the measuring cup is even, and then dump it in the muffin liner, helping the batter out with my finger. This works perfectly!

As far as the time of cooking goes, I always (on every batch) set the timer for 15 mins and then go check them with a toothpick. My oven (everyone’s oven will bake slightly differently) normally takes about 18 mins total to cook these muffins so they are not over done, I always pull mine out when the toothpick is clean and just before they would begin to brown. This recipe will make you 26 muffins.

Once the muffins are cool, I throw them in a ziplock bag and toss them into the freezer.  This is the part I LOVE…because when you are ready to eat them, you can pull out as many as you want, pop them in the microwave, and enjoy a fresh, hot muffin.  They will stay fresh for a while…but my kids gobble them up so quickly we never have them more than a few weeks :)

And just a little side note, you can freeze muffins, cakes, cupcakes….and when you thaw them out, they will taste as fresh as the day you made them.  I do it ALL the time when I have birthdays or events to bring things too.  Heck, most of the time I have some cupcakes in the freezer for my husband when he gets a sweet tooth. :)

Let me know if you try these out….they really are delicious and I love them even more because my kids enjoy them with me! :)

XOXO, Katie

