Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This gorgeous blonde, Kim Barnouin, may be most well known for co-authoring the book Skinny Bitch, but her mission extends beyond the pages of her best seller.  She prides herself in taking a no-nonsense approach to getting women on a healthier path through a more wholesome and clean life.

What you need to know about Kim is that she has an amazing website geared towards a better you, www.healthybitchdaily.com, where she dishes on everything from the food we put into our bodies to taking care of ourselves. With so much to choose from on the market these days, Kim also features a section entitled “What the Hell Do I Buy?” and gives advice on what to buy when it comes to buying wholesome and buying clean. Did I mention that she also features giveaways? Go check out her website, it’s definitely worth seeing!

Her latest book, Skinny Bitch: Home, Beauty & Style: A No-Nonsense Guide to Cutting the Crap Out of Your Life for a Better Body and a Kinder World, details all of the nasties in our cosmetics, clothing, and furnishings. There is more to being a Skinny Bitch than just the food we put into our bodies, it extends to our home furnishings, what we wear, and even the make up we use on our faces. For all of us who strive to live a more wholesome life, Kim Barnouin is the the perfect role model. Thanks so much Kim for taking the time to dish on your fave beauty products!

What’s your everyday cheapie, an inexpensive product that you use on a frequent basis?

Coconut Oil. I use it for tons of things from cooking and baking to shaving my legs, putting it on my split ends, as a body moisturizer before bed and taking off my eye make up.

What’s your beauty splurge that is so worth it?

I owe Osea Undaria Body Polish for amazingly soft skin, it comes in a big tub and it’s $60 but it is worth every penny.  I can make it last exceptionally long, I love this stuff.  My other splurge is ZuZu Luxe Mascara, it’s around $16 and once again, worth every penny.  It actually helps your lashes grow, it’s natural and chemical free.

What’s your fave new beauty product/hair discovery?

It’s not that new by now but I’m still stuck on Hair Fix Dry Shampoo, I found it over the summer and fell in love.  You know when you have those days when you know you should wash your hair but you woke up with the best hair ever? I have a few of those days, along with an occasional case of laziness.  Dry shampoo is too cool, it gets rid of oily hair, it gives life to limp hair and keeps that awesome hairstyle you’re sporting.

What skincare products do you use regularly?

I am religious about washing my face at night, using a good moisturizer and eye cream.  I am realizing the importance of this ritual since the signs of aging are upon me.  I alternate between using a baking soda paste (just baking soda and water) and Suki Moisturizer Rich Cleansing Lotion, which cleans my skin and acts as a moisturizer as well.  I follow up with Weleda Pomegranate Firming Eye Cream.

What’s your all time favorite hair products?

I love the Giovanni line of shampoos and conditioners, especially the Smooth As Silk products. To style my hair and keep it smooth and silky I use Moroccan Oil.

Any Skinny Bitch secrets that you’re willing to share with my readers?

Well, I don’t have many since I put out all the info and products I find out there for all to read! But I do love to wash my face with a bristle brush, like men use for shaving.  It gets your skin really clean and slightly exfoliates at the same time.  It’s inexpensive and very useful.

Recently, I’ve been thinking a lot about trying my first cleanse. What are your thoughts on cleanses?

I think cleansing the body every so often is necessary, but I don’t think it needs to be for long periods of time.  When I feel like I have overdone it I just spend 1 day drinking only fresh squeezed juices and fruit smoothies. I have to admit that I’m not so good at fasting and doing cleanses for longer then 2 days, but that’s just a personal thing. I think every body reacts differently and people know the limits of their body.  I typically do a 1-2 day cleanse every 4 months, and I specifically use Kaeng Raeng cleanse.

